CHURCH HISTORY | 1913-2021

The Galilee Baptist Church was organized in 1913, at Colgate Creek under the pastorate of Rev. Stephen Robinson. On Christmas Day, 1917, the church moved from Colgate Creek to North Point Road in a building which was in the rear of the church’s present site. The building that was used was an old one which had been previously used as a church and an Elementary school. Rev. Robinson obtained permission from the Misters Stengel, Gray and Lambert to move into the building.

While in this building, the pastor, officers and member worked faithfully for about three years until they were able to secure enough money to purchase the ground on which this building was situated.During this time, plans were being made to build a new church. a contract was drawn up for the new building. The old building was razed on August 2, 1920. The cost of the building was $3,000.00 of which $300.00 was paid at the signing of the contract. In 1925, the church moved into the new building, then later rebuild in 1962 which is the building yet standing. Men and women worked hard down through the years to bring Galilee where we are today.

8 Pastors and 3 Acting Pastors served since our beginning including our present pastor, Rev. Douglas Wilson, who served as Interim Pastor for one year. Before his year ended, he was elected as Pastor on June 22, 1990. He has been pastoring for over 24 years and the church continues to grow, serving a true and living God, changing the world by preaching and teaching God’s Word.

Galilee is blessed and continues to carry on in the service of God, as the Gospel is preached and demonstrated by Pastor Wilson’s gift of demonstration. Many new members have come to join and Kingdom building is a number one part of every Ministry’s mission. God continues to bless us as we continue to move forward following the Lead of Jesus Christ and the under shepherd he has left in charge. We are beginning preparation for expansion in the very near future. With God as head, we can do all things, and will continue to serve, even into eternity as He so wills.

Our Church Leaders

Sis Ringoldia Burnell

Church Secretary

Sis Janet Jones

Church Financial Secretary

Deacon Larry Collins

Chairman Deacon Board

Trustee Reginald Brown

Chairman Trustee Board